More Surgical Menopause Side Effects

For the past few weeks, I have been dealing with two frustrations, and I wonder if they are side effects of surgical menopause.  The first is migraine headaches.  I began getting migraines in college.  When I was 20, I had sinus surgery (including fixing a deviated septum, removal of turbinates, and some other digging around in there).  Being able to breathe through my nose for the first time in my life seemed to help these headaches, and from that point on, I only got them during my period and even then, not every month.  After I had my son two years ago, I didn’t go back on birth control pills.  The migraines increased in intensity during my period and they occurred consistently every month for the entire week.  They were controllable with Imitrex.

Since I had the hysterectomy at the end of July, I have woken up with a migraine almost every day.  If I don’t wake up with one, then I usually develop one by the end of the day.  I’m popping Imitrex like Tic Tacs, which I don’t think is necessarily a safe thing to be doing, but it’s allowing me to get through the day.

This morning, I woke up with a migraine, took an Imitrex, and got ready for work.  During my commute (just over an hour drive), the headache still wasn’t gone; I began to feel my eyes getting tired and I became nauseous.  I took a second Imitrex and by the time I arrived at work, the headache was gone.  Nonetheless, I decided I had to call Dr Balk.  She suggested switching my estrogen patch to a once weekly, rather than twice weekly.  I didn’t really understand how this is supposed to help, but I’m going to try it anyway.  The prescription is waiting for me at the pharmacy.

The second frustration I’ve been dealing with is my teeth.  I don’t have the best dental hygiene, I’ll admit.  But I’ve always had nearly perfect teeth – no cavities, and every time I go to the dentist, I get complimented on them.  I was just at the dentist in May and she said everything was perfect as always.  But, since the surgery, my teeth have been killing me!  All of my molars hurt when I bite down on almost anything.  This is quite frustrating because I love to eat apples and I can barely chew them right now.  My mom suggested I switch to Sensodyne toothpaste, and I did a few days ago.  I’m going to give that a week or so and if nothing changes, I’ll head back to the dentist.  What I’m most concerned about is my teeth cracking to bits – when I looked up “teeth sensitivity” on Hystersisters, several women reported their teeth just falling to pieces during menopause.  I can almost guarantee that if my teeth start falling out, I will be asking for my ovaries back!

In other news, the results of my bone density scan are back – everything is normal.

One comment

Leave a Reply

