Hysterectomy Pathology

The night I returned home from the hospital, Dr Sukumvanich called to tell me my pathology was all clean – no cancer.  Great news!  Yesterday I got an email that the pathology had been uploaded to my online medical record.  Here’s what it says:

FINAL DIAGNOSIS: UTERUS, CERVIX, BILATERAL ADNEXA, TOTAL LAPAROSCOPIC HYSTERECTOMY AND BILATERAL SALPINGO-OOPHORECTOMY.
A. CHRONIC ENDOCERVICITIS.
B. PROLIFERATIVE ENDOMETRIUM.
C. UNREMARKABLE MYOMETRIUM.
D. BENIGN FALLOPIAN TUBES.
E. BENIGN OVARIES WITH MÜLLERIAN GLANDULAR INCLUSIONS, MULTIPLE FOLLICLE CYSTS, AND OVARIAN CORTICAL FIBROSIS.

There’s also mention of “adherent hemorrhagic adhesions” and “numerous subcortical, bilateral, cystic structures filled with hemorrhagic contents.”

This sounds a lot less than “clean” to me.  Maybe there’s no cancer, but there sure as heck was a lot else going on.   Of course I’ve googled all of these items, and even with scary names like those, most of them are rather normal parts of a monthly cycle.   Really the only one that sounds as if it’s any trouble is the first one – chronic endocervicitis.

As I’ve said, for the past year or so, I’ve suffered from chronic abdominal pain – almost like constant pms cramps.  So I wonder if any of this could be the cause.  But how could none of this shown up on a yearly exam or a pap?

Obviously, I’m going to ask the doctor about all of this when I see him on Wednesday.

Leave a Reply

