Hysterectomy Done!

I’ll give a brief overview of the last two days’ events, since I’m still rather groggy from the anesthesia and can’t seem to stay awake for longer than 20 minutes at a time.

Yesterday morning,the surgeon’s scheduler called to say he was running early, and if it were possible, we could come in earlier.  I had just gotten out of the shower, but we scaddadled right on over the hospital.  I was starving from my liquid diet the day before and really just wanted to get the whole thing over with. Once at the hospital, my paperwork was  processed and I was in pre-op almost immediately.  Several people came by – a few nurses, my doctor, his resident, the anesthesiologist.  My husband and parents were there with me until they were ready to wheel me into the OR.

And then I woke up in the recovery room.  I was very groggy, in and out of sleep, and not in much pain.  At around 4, I was brought up to my hospital room where my parents and husband were waiting.  My husband left soon after to pick up our son from school.

I did have one small meltdown – I wanted more pain meds, I was having a lot of pain (a combination of the crampiness from the surgery and stitches along with gas), the pain was making me extremely nauseous, and the nurses weren’t responding to my call for meds.  Eventually, a nurse brought me some other pain meds and some Compazine, and within a few minutes I was fine.

Soon after that, they removed my catheter and my parents left.  I was alone for the night.  But, it’s really so much easier to get in and out of bed than I thought it would be.  I got up several times in the night to pee, but the only time I called the nurse was for pain meds.  It was sort of empowering to do this myself, since my mom had stayed with me every minute of the five days that I was in the hospital in January and then I needed help with everything.

This morning, the residents, nurses, and Dr Sukumvanich all came by to check on me.  Dr Sukumvanich said the initial pathology all came back clear, but they will do a more detailed view of all of the tissue – results won’t come back for that for a week or so.

I ate a bit of breakfast and then my mom and husband arrived.  I was discharged very early, but it took about four hours to get the paperwork done and the wheelchair to arrive.  Finally, at 1pm, I was home in my own bed.

The Percocet is only keeping me comfortable for about two hours.  Then I start counting down minutes until I can take it again.  I did just take some Gas-x hoping that might help – the doctor said it wouldn’t (he gave me an explanation I really didn’t understand), but I figure it can’t hurt.  Mood-wise I feel fine – I think right now I’m concentrating on handling the physical pain, so that’s helping me not worry to much about mood changes.

Leave a Reply

