Ok HRT

Today I met with Dr. Brufsky, a medical oncologist at the hospital where I’ve been treated for the last six months.  These are my notes:

Cancer is gone – hormonal stuff is fine.  After having mastectomy from a good breast surgeon, there should be practically no breast tissue left, therefore risk is minimal.

People with depression should have HRT

Carefully follow estrogen level

He’ll talk about it with Sukumvanich

He’ll give me the prescription (if sukumvanich doesn’t want to); then Brufsky will follow up on my estrogen level (low dose patch); — make apt with brufsky to see him a couple of weeks after surgery and he’ll prescribe a patch Cardiac risk is WITHOUT HRT – the HRT could prevent cardiac risk

SOY? Ok in moderation

I will still be getting a third opinion on Wednesday from Dr. Balk.  The women in my FORCE group say she is the best in determining a holistic approach to hormonal side effects.

Leave a Reply

