New Body, New Clothes

I hate shopping.  I hate going to the grocery store, I hate shopping for clothes or shoes.  I don’t mind so much wandering around Target with a list of things we need for the house, but I really don’t like to go out to buy things for myself.  This used to be because I am overweight and shopping for clothes is hard.  But since I have had a baby, I feel even worse about shopping because it feels like if I have any extra money, it should go to stuff my kid needs.

But then I see in my head those women on “What Not to Wear” who have completely “let themselves go” and they all blame their children.  I don’t want to be one of those women.  So even though I’m content with sweats on the weekends, I need to update my weekday wardrobe.

And, now that my body has changed a lot, I am desperate for some new clothes.  I begin the day with pants that feel comfy, and by the end of the day, they are completely falling off and I can remove them without even unzipping.  I really needed some stuff to wear this summer for teaching and the many meetings I have to attend, but I’d been putting it off for a while.  My other problem is that I am going to be meeting with many important people at my university in the coming year for various projects related to my job, and I really need to update my wardrobe from what it is now – something between lounge-wear and business casual – to full on business attire.

Finally, some online sales caught my eye, and I bit the bullet.  Today a few boxes arrived, and I’m happy to say that I now have six pairs of summer work pants and a couple of cute tops as well – and they all fit really nicely.  I’m surprised that I actually only went down one pants size and one shirt size, but I suppose, as I’ve said, even though my stomach is gone, my ass and thighs remain, as do my flabby arms, which makes it hard to get short-sleeved blouses in sizes any smaller than I used to wear.  Regardless, I don’t suspect any of these new pants will leave me half-naked by the end of the day.  I’ve also ordered a suit that should get me through the fall.

At the end of the summer, I suppose I’ll start ordering some clothes for winter.  But for now, this alone is a huge achievement.

One comment

  1. Nothing is more motivating than new clothes! Now that I have lost weight, I found that I really enjoy clothes again. You realize that you wear a “uniform” when you are in a rut. Same style shirt and pants in the same drab colors. Treat yourself to new things with every weight loss!

Leave a Reply

