Back Pain

I have been having some back pain. I’m trying to get as much work done from home as I can, and that means sitting at my desk. Normally I’m quite comfortable at my desk – I have a good quality chair and a rather ergonomic set up for working at the computer. But these days, if I sit here for longer than an hour, my back starts hurting. I try to sit up straight and have good posture, but it doesn’t seem to help. I posted something about this on Facebook, and my MIL’s cousin (who is having this surgery in May) said she hadn’t read anything about that in her research. I realized that I hadn’t either. So I posted this thread to the FORCE message board. I’m curious to see if any other people have this issue. I am assuming it has to do with my back muscles compensating for less core strength, but my core does seem a lot stronger each day, yet my back pain is not decreasing. I do think that getting back in the pool and resuming my regular exercise routine will help – just another week and a half until I can do that.

In other news, I emailed Dr Gimbel about two questions.

> 1) I am almost comfortable enough to go back to side sleeping. Will that compromise blood flow to the flaps? Do I need to worry about blood flow at this point (four weeks after surgery)? Or are there other reasons to continue sleeping on my back?
> I THINK IT’S OK TO SLEEP ON YOUR SIDE, BUT WOULD NOT SLEEP ON STOMACH YET.
> 2) I’ve read a lot about women massaging their breasts to avoid necrosis. Should I be doing that? If so, is there a specific way of doing it? Touching them still sort of weirds me out, but I’ll do it if it will avoid complications in the future.
I DON’T THINK MASSAGE WILL HELP AGAINST FAT NECROSIS. MASSAGE MOSTLY USED IN IMPLANT RECONSTRUCTION TO PREVENT CAPSULAR CONTRACTURE (hardening). I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND IT FOR YOUR TYPE OF RECONSTRUCTION. MOSTLY ALL THAT IS NEEDED NOW IS TIME TO ALLOW SWELLING TO GO AWAY (2-3 MORE MONTHS).

Side sleeping gets more comfortable each night with less breast soreness, and I’m glad to have his approval. While sleeping on my back, I was able to get to sleep, but once my husband’s alarm went off at 5am, I was unable to fall back to sleep because I couldn’t get comfortable again being stuck on my back. Usually when his alarm goes off, I just switch sides and fall back to sleep. This morning I was able to do that.

I’m also relieved to hear that he’s not worried about necrosis. I seem to read a whole lot about that – dying skin, dying tissue, hard and painful areas. Nonetheless, I am doing some general squeezing each night before bed, just to make sure nothing feels strange (although really, the whole thing feels strange!).

2 comments

Leave a Reply

